How to Apply for an e-Tourist Visa of India or Indian Visa

e-tourist visa,

Americans, Canadians, Australian, Britishers as well as citizens of many other countries are now eligible to apply for Indian e-Tourist Visa.

The government of India is adding most of the nations to the list of countries whose citizens can use the Indian tourist e-Tourist Visa facility for easier Indian visa for their trip to India.  A list of countries is given at the end of this blog. More countries are assumed to be added in the near future.

Process to apply

  • Applicants for an e-Tourist visa for Indian can apply for their visa by:
  • Filling online visa application
  • Uploading a photo and passport data page
  • Pay visa fee online

Following their online submission of the above, and they will receive an email in about 72 hours authorising them to travel to India. This authorisation email must be printed and taken by the candidate with them for presentation to the immigration authorities on arrival in India.

Important Points to note:

Application for an e-Tourist visa must be made at least 4 days in advance of your date of arrival. For instance, if the visa application is made say on day 1, then your arrival date should not be prior to day 5 and no later than 34 days of filling the application for an e-Tourist visa.

The tourist visa validity is 30 days from the date of arrival and is limited to a single entry only.

This type of online visa is available only for a tourist visa. No other exercise is allowed.

MHA specifies the allowed activities under e-Tourist Visa as,

  • Sightseeing
  • Recreation
  • A casual visit to meet relatives
  • Short duration medical treatment
  • A Casual business visits

Passport should have minimum six months validity from the date of arrival and at least two blank pages for Indian immigration officer to stamp the passport.

A valid ticket to leave India on expiry of their visa period and enough funds to cover the stay in India are required.

The gap of 2 months between two visits on a Tourist Visa now applies only to citizens of Pakistan, Iraq, Afghanistan, China, Iran, Sudan, foreigners of Pakistan origin and Stateless persons.


Comments 0

Your email address will not be published.

How to Apply for an e-Tourist Visa of India or Indian Visa

log in


reset password

Back to
log in

Subscribe For Latest Update